Inferno

Since we recently put “Inferno” in our Netflix queue, I bought the book to read. I always enjoy reading the book first and then watching the movie. I like it so much, I’ve now given it to my husband to read.

I’m probably the last person on the planet to read the book, but if you haven’t read it, you’re in for a real treat. Warning, though – if you have other things you really need to do, don’t start it until you’ve cleared a bit of your schedule.

The blurb on the Amazon website says,

“In the heart of Italy, Harvard professor of symbology Robert Langdon is drawn into a harrowing world centered on one of history’s most enduring and mysterious literary masterpieces . . . Dante’s Inferno.

Against this backdrop, Langdon battles a chilling adversary and grapples with an ingenious riddle that pulls him into a landscape of classic art, secret passageways, and futuristic science. Drawing from Dante’s dark epic poem, Langdon races to find answers and decide whom to trust . . . before the world is irrevocably altered.”

To add my personal note, I found the characters well-drawn and real. I cared about all of them. I even felt a bit sorry for the ‘villain,’ in that his strong beliefs – built throughout his life – were ignored.  The story was a strong one, really keeping my interest. I also loved the virtual guide through many wonderful places all over the world. The descriptions were wonderful, obviously from someone who knew and appreciated antiquity, history, art, and other cultures. I now have a whole list of places I’ll Google, hoping for good pictures. :0)

If you’ve already read it, I would love to hear what you thought. If you haven’t read it, I hope you’ll treat yourself to a real experience.

Since I love Tom Hanks, I’m now looking forward to seeing the movie.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book - Movie - TV Reviews

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.