Favorite Things – Evolution of My Turkey Sandwich

Good Housekeeping

When my mom fixed Thanksgiving dinner every year, I always wanted the drumstick. I don’t remember her cooking turkey any other time, but she did a great job making it a dinner to remember. She liked cooking alone, so my help consisted of setting the table and helping with clean up. My favorite part of the Thanksgiving celebrations each year were the turkey sandwiches in the days afterwards.

Now my favorite turkey sandwiches are a part of my low carb lifestyle, being modified to ditch the bread for me and substituting Mission Net Carb Zero Tortillas. They’re harder to eat, but delicious just the same.

And now, since I discovered that the deli turkey I had been enjoying for LUNCH for some time now was super high in Sodium (1018 mgs when a healthy amount is 1500-2300 PER DAY) I am now cooking my own turkey breast (carbs=0, sodium=47 mg).

Since one of my husband’s favorite things is turkey sandwiches, I can now use my tortillas and enjoy the sandwiches with him, free of guilt with a huge smile on my face – which we’ll do tonight! :0)

Leave a comment

Filed under Favorite Things, memories, taking care of yourself

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.