Suckers

Ramon Gonzalez – Tree Hugger

My friend, Laufrain, showed me how to find tomato suckers.

I had just scrubbed out Amber’s kiddie pool and was waiting for it to fill with the hose. I decided to look for some suckers I could plant indoors. I found four, put the stems in rooting hormone and then put the little suckers in water on my dining area table. Tonight, while we’re cooking out, I’ll see if I can find more on the remaining two tomato plants.

It’ll probably take several tries before I get this right, but if I can get the suckers to grow and keep them alive until it’s time to put them in the greenhouse, I MAY have some healthy tomato plants ready to transplant into the garden next spring! I’m planning to do this with some other things too, some of which can go into a fall garden. I’ll get more serious about starting some seeds in the next few days, when we’re supposed to have a lot of rain.

As I get this going, I’ll show you some pictures.

Leave a comment

Filed under Gardening, Square Foot Gardening - Raised Beds

Leave a Reply

