Weed Trees :0(

Weed Identification-Brisbane City Council

This weed tree is similar to the ones I’m cutting down that grow naturally all the way across our back yard. Some of them are over 10 feet high! They grow where there isn’t any soil. They grow right back if you burn them down. We hired a nice young man last year who spent about 6 hours over several weekends clearing them out for us, but I decided I would do it myself this, year, a little bit at a time.

Recently I posted a picture of the little bitty hallway-type opening I had made. I just spent half an hour today lopping more. I’m trying to work when there is as little sun as possible and the temperatures are halfway reasonable.

As I type, I’m still huffing and puffing a bit, plus guzzling a bottle of water. I’m TRYING to tell myself that if I make any progress at all, I should be content. It’s not quite working out that way. In fact, the biggest reason I stopped this time was because the level I’m standing on in order to lop another weed tree, is very shaky ground. There are the remnants of the ones I’ve cut down, plus the ones from last year, sticking up. You can’t really tell where the ‘ground’ is. I lost my balance and sat down. It took me quite a while to lever myself back up so that I could come in

It’s nicely overcast today with a 40% chance of scattered showers, so I’ll rest a bit and then do another hitch while the weather is co-operative. I’ll post another picture when you can actually tell I’ve done more…

Leave a comment

Filed under Challenges, exercise, Mother Nature

Leave a Reply

