Magic

Alice Hoffman via Title Wave for Books via Cathy Ruggiero

I’ve started book # 19 in the “In Death” series by Nora Roberts. There are 45 books – so far – in the series, so I feel as if I’m in Heaven, right in the middle of people I respect in complicated situations. Eve Dallas is a homicide police lieutenant. She is an extremely strong, dedicated cop who sees the worst society has to offer on a regular basis, some of which takes her back to an aggressively abusive childhood she has tried to put behind her.

I love the fact that she’s complicated. She has a very interesting husband who is sharing a completely different lifestyle than she’s ever know. I’m intrigued by her co-workers and friends.  The stories are typically Nora Roberts, with well thought out plots I cannot figure out before the end of the book. You feel as if you KNOW all the characters and appreciate their quirks, vulnerabilities, and interesting interactions. You care about them.

So many authors who do series have a lot of repetition in them. Not so here, and I like that a lot.

I avoided this series for years, thinking that I liked Nora’s writing and subjects so well that I couldn’t imagine enjoying reading about death. I’m delighted that my friend, Marsha, got me started, buying the 1st book used on Amazon. I found an “order of the books” online and am ordering 6 at a time. I now have 26 in the series. What a lucky woman I am to have found another side of a favorite author! She has introduced me to a whole new world.

Leave a comment

Filed under Favorite Authors & Books, Reading is FUNdamental

Leave a Reply

