Celery and Lettuce Starts

The three glasses in the foreground of this picture are celery starts. The one behind the other three is lettuce!

I bought a head of lettuce Sunday. When I was making us a sandwich, I smacked the lettuce on the counter to make the hard end pop out and suddenly thought, “Why wouldn’t growing lettuce from a head bought at the store work the same way as celery?”  (At least I don’t talk to myself aloud – at least, not very MUCH…. :0)  )

So I plonked the end in a glass and added water. If you look carefully, you can see that it’s greening up! I have no clue if this will continue to be large enough for me to put in the garden or not, but it sure will be fun to try it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Gardening, Square Foot Gardening - Raised Beds

Leave a Reply

