“Happy”

Sean Dietrich writes a blog post called “Sean of the South.” I’ve told you about it before, and I can’t say enough about his writing. I can’t just read his thoughts. I FEEL them. I react. I laugh, sometimes out loud. I tear up. Sometimes the tears spill out. He tells us about life. He reminds us of the good in the world – many times when we might feel it’s mostly gone. I’m reposting today’s blog post, called, “Happy.” You’ll see what I mean.

________________

HAPPY

“The happiest day in eleven-year-old Aaron’s life was when he went hunting for the first time.

“All he ever wanted to do was go hunting,” says Aaron’s mother. “His daddy was a big hunter and fisherman.”

Was.

But Aaron’s daddy died in a car accident many years ago. He never got a chance to go.

Enter Joe Seuferer, neighbor and avid hunter, who just moved in next door with his girlfriend.

The first things little Aaron noticed were the Browning stickers on Joseph’s truck. One thing led to another.

Aaron’s first buck was a six-pointer.

The best moment in eighteen-year-old Erica’s natural life was her first guitar recital—which happened last week.

As a girl, Erica lost two fingers in a ski-lift accident. She’s been wearing her sleeves long ever since.

A year ago, she she saw a YouTube video of a man with no arms, playing guitar with his feet.

“When I saw that guy,” said Erica. “I was like, ‘I got no excuses.’”

Erica claims that after learning guitar, she feels she can do anything.

Forty-three-year-old Danny just experienced his happiest earthly day acting in a Hollywood Western.

The lucky dog.

Producers put him on a horse and dressed him in full cowboy regalia.

“I was an extra,” said Danny. “It was like living a childhood dream.”

Danny started riding horses during childhood. He wanted to be in rodeos, but it was not to be. His family went bankrupt when he was a teenager, they sold the farm.

“Losing everything at that young age was traumatic,” he said. “I quit riding altogether.”

Today, Danny makes good money pushing a pencil. He has a wife. Two kids. He pays the bills.

He started riding again last February.

When a friend arranged for Danny to be in a movie, he nearly had a heart attack.

“I got to ride with the outlaws. I know it sounds silly, but I was REALLY happy.”

Seventy-four-year-old Mary Lee’s happiest minutes were seeing her grandbaby, Grace, for the first time. Grace was born with Down’s syndrome. Her birth mother put her up for adoption—post-birth.

Mary Lee heard about the child and suggested her daughter apply to adopt.

“My daughter can’t have kids,” said Mary Lee. “But we knew she was meant to be a mom.”

So, Mary Lee and her daughter spent the first eight months in a hospital, watching Grace undergo heart operations, surgeries, and illnesses.

Bringing her home was a victory.

On Grace’s first overnight stay at Grandmama’s house, Mary Lee didn’t sleep a wink.

“That’s the most beautiful child I ever saw. She makes me so happy.”

Happy.

I don’t mean to point out the obvious, but I’m going say it: you’re not going to live forever. Neither am I.

I don’t know what makes you smile, laugh, or feel good, but you deserve to be doing more of it. A lot more. In fact, you deserve to be so giddy your cheeks hurt.

And if for some reason, you aren’t happy today, then find someone to make happy.

And you will be.”

2 Comments

Filed under Blog Repost - Wonderful Posts, Encouragement

2 responses to ““Happy”

  1. this is something I have been taking to heart lately. Trying to find the things I really enjoy. You find that you lose that when you are taking care of a house, kids and all that grown up stuff !!

    • I hear you, Stephie, and agree. WE kind of get lost in the shuffle, actually feeling guilty if we take a bit of time to do something we want to do. Our time for fun stuff gets shunted to the side all too often. I’m taking this to heart, too, and trying to make some changes. Life is too short, and I want to make as much time to do things I enjoy as possible.

Leave a Reply

