Tomatoes 5/5/2017

Since the rains came and the sun started shining, the tomatoes have really grown. I spent some time today tying up branches, trying to get them to climb the trellises my husband made. This is the smaller tomato plant in what we call “The Nook” beside the porch and behind the house.

 

This is the larger of the two nook tomato plants, planted about two weeks before the smaller one.

 

Here are the two together.

 

We have six more tomato plants in the brick planter we also converted to square foot garden plants, with Mel’s Mix. We bought these at three different times, again trying to expand the season and spread out when the tomatoes ripen a bit.

 

You can really see the difference between the plants here.

Finally, I just planted two grape tomato plants in the main garden a week or so ago. I’ll take pics of those when I start repairing what the rains did to the plants out there tomorrow.

My mouth is already watering! I saw some sweet yellow blooms here and there today…

4 Comments

Filed under Arkansas, DIET!, Gardening, Greenwood, Mother Nature, Square Foot Gardening - Raised Beds

4 responses to “Tomatoes 5/5/2017

  1. Your tomato plants are looking good, Linda šŸ™‚
    I did cheat a little, I did buy one, as already had few tomatoes growing on. Now it has been growing much more. Will show you photos one of the days, when I get abundance to photograph new.
    I bought some cherry tomatoes few weeks ago, different kinds, just to take out their seeds and plant directly. This was more cheap than buying lots of seeds, as I don’t have pots for anyway. These started to come up now, so in short time, I will need to replant them to bigger pots šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

