“I’m Popeye the Sailor Man…”

We put Popeye up on the mailbox this morning. He makes us smile, and we hope he makes others smile, too.

 

He’s a tall piece (about 2-1/2 feet tall) and would bend in a good wind if we didn’t put a bunch of braces on him. Here is the back of the piece. You can see where the rods are, and how I tried to blend them into the figure.

Now I’ve got the Popeye song dancing around in my head…

Here are some lyrics so YOU’RE singing, too!  (Version One)

“I’m Popeye the sailor man
I’m Popeye the sailor man
I’m strong to the fin-ich
Cause I eats me spin-ach
I’m Popeye the sailor man.

I’m one tough Gazookus
Which hates all Palookas
What ain’t on the up and square.
I biffs ’em and buffs ’em
And always out roughs ’em
But none of ’em gets nowhere.

If anyone dares to risk my Fisk,
It’s Boff and it’s Wham, understand?
So keep Good Be-hav-or
That’s your one life saver
With Popeye the Sailor Man.

I’m Popeye the sailor man
I’m Popeye the sailor man
I’m strong to the fin-ich
Cause I eats me spin-ach
I’m Popeye the sailor man.”


“I’m Popeye the sailor man     (version two)
I live in a garbage can.
I eats all the worms
And spits out the germs
I’m Popeye the sailor man.

I’m Popeye the sailor man
I live in a frying pan
I turn up the heat
And burn up my feet
I’m Popeye the sailor man

I’m Popeye the sailor man
I’ve never stepped foot on the land
I like to go swimmin’
With them mermaid women
And float on my back to get tan.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Lewis Art, Lewis Mailbox Decorations

Leave a Reply

