Garage Sale Riches

My husband went to get the mail yesterday while I was making pudding. I started to worry when he didn’t return after half an hour. He finally showed up with a wonderful vase in hand. He said he got it at a garage sale down the road from us. He wanted me to stop what I was doing and go back to the sale with him.

He bought a tool and die set, a power scraper we can add to our air tool collection, some clamps, and some other tool type stuff. He was very happy, encouraging me to get whatever I wanted.

The house was empty except for the sale stuff. The lady who has lived there since way before we moved here 30 years ago has gone to an assisted living center now and is very happy with her new life.

I have to show you my goodies!

Here is the vase my husband brought home – without, and then with, flowers.

 

 

I LOVE pitchers of any type, size, and color. I found these –

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This was the most expensive thing I bought. It was $10. I spent $33, including the vase my husband got for me.

 

AND, I got these two adorable doggies to live on the front porch. I also have ceramic ducks on the porch, plus a frog, a gnome, and a hedgehog. I’ll take pics of the porch when I get it cleaned up and the flowers planted.

I just love garage sales! You don’t spend a lot of time figuring out if you want something or not. When you do find something, the price is marked clearly, so you don’t have to wonder if you can afford it, and you don’t have to bother someone to find out. You don’t have to wait around all day, as you do at an auction, for what you’re interested in to come up for bid, only to lose to someone who is willing to pay more for it than it costs new.

I feel rich!

Leave a comment

Filed under Favorite Things

Leave a Reply

