Current Mosaic Piece in Progress

I’m making this for a friend. What I’m picturing is that it will be a nice place to put a tea light and that it will glow through the pieces of glass.

All of the pieces of tile are now glued onto the glass. (This is the bowl upside-down. I’m planning to spread grout on the bottom so I can ‘sign’ it, using a baby trowel type tool.)

The next step is fun, labor-intensive, and quite messy – like playing in the mud or messing with play dough or finger painting.

I put grout all over the piece, making sure I get it all around all the pieces of glass tiles as evenly as possible. When that is done, I use warm water and a sponge, or cloth, or both, to wipe the piece to get all of the excess grout off the glass. This takes a lot of time, effort, and lots of warm, clean water. I have to get it completely cleaned up before the grout dries or it will be like trying to scrape cement off.

I’ll take pics when the grout is on and the piece cleaned up.

4 Comments

Filed under Arts and Crafts - Teaching, Lewis Art, mosaic

4 responses to “Current Mosaic Piece in Progress

  1. Very nice! Can’t wait to see it finished!

Leave a Reply

