Great Book for a Rainy Day

I Love Reading Books via Cathy Ruggiero

I Love Reading Books via Cathy Ruggiero

Since we’re having a rainy, raw day here, I’m feeling very lucky to have a warm, dry house and a good book to read!

I started reading Upstairs at the White House: My Life with the First Ladies, by J.B. West and Mary Lynn Kotz.

It covers a behind the scenes look at some of our first ladies, from Eleanor Roosevelt through Ladybird Johnson from the standpoint of the Chief Usher at the White House for about 30 years.  I’m finding it educational and extremely interesting. I have to admit my ignorance at not even knowing the White House HAD a chief usher, or his duties. Getting his reactions to what was happening in history, and the daily work in the White House during this period really gives you a different perspective on what you thought you knew, plus insights you didn’t have before. I highly recommend this book.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book - Movie - TV Reviews, Favorite Authors & Books, Reading is FUNdamental

Leave a Reply

