Thursday Thoughts

Whatsapp Status 77

Whatsapp Status 77

It’s a beautiful, sunny morning here in Greenwood, Arkansas. We stayed up very late last night/this morning, binge watching part of the past season of “The Magicians.” The new season has started, but somehow we got lost and didn’t watch the whole season last time. We rented Discs 1 and 2 and got interested again. We watched 3 last night and are expecting 4 to be in the mailbox today. Once we get caught up we’ll try to pretend we’re normal again. :0)

It’s supposed to get to 66 today! I really find it hard to believe. It’s really too early for this. It has snowed many times on my birthday in March, so I’m expecting that the daffodils that are blooming profusely and the iris buds that are trying to bloom will be cut off by a blast from Mother Nature soon. My spirits are lifted looking that the beauty, though.

Today I’m contemplating two things: spreading “Weed & Feed” on the lawn and planting Georgia Sweet Onion sets in my raised bed square foot garden.  It’s not SUPPOSED to freeze in the 10-day forecast, so I’m hoping that if I hold my mouth right, all will be good on the onion sets.

 

celery2

I now have 7 celery plants in soil on the window sill. Here are the youngest.

celery1plus1weed

These are the two middle plants.

celery3

These are the oldest. I’m planting to move whatever is still alive to the garden around the 10th of March.

 

celery-spinachsprouts

I finally have a few spinach sprouts!  Who knows if they’ll live, get brothers and sisters, or what, but my fingers are crossed and hopes are high.

My efforts at Weed & Feed for the lawn are because we decided that our lawn was really terrible due to moles, voles, gophers, and whatever other burrowing animals are in the area. They seem to have sent out a memo, inviting all their friends and relatives. We were happy with our lawn care folks, but even they said that they didn’t really have anything that was effective against these tiny creatures. We’ve killed the grubs they feed on, but that didn’t seem to make much difference. Since our lawn is a mess and I can use the exercise, I’m just going to spread weed killer and fertilizer myself and hope for the best.  Picture me doing the ‘mole-stomping-dance’ all over the yard as I crank the weed & feed pellet distributor.

I’ll take pics when I get the onion sets planted.

I hope your day is productive and that you do something you truly enjoy.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Arkansas, Gardening, Square Foot Gardening - Raised Beds

Leave a Reply

