The Problem with a Clean Kitchen

P&G Every Day

P&G Every Day

This isn’t MY kitchen, but I wanted to give you a mental picture.

The problem with a clean kitchen is that I don’t want to mess it up once it’s good, deep down clean. It’s a result of my being a slob. If my kitchen were ALWAYS eat-off-the-floor clean, I wouldn’t think a thing about going in to make pudding – or worse – my husband going in to make pudding. I wouldn’t care if we were doing something a bit messy, like sausage balls. I would calmly be planning lunch in a few minutes and figure out what I’m fixing for dinner later.

Because I’m about as far from “Suzy-Homemaker” as one can get, now that I’ve spent an hour or so taking everything off the counters, cleaning the counters and all that goes on them, the island, the kitchen desk, the microwave, the stove, the double sinks, the fishbowl, etc., the stove burners are in the dishwasher and the nice smell of lemon greets you as you enter. The floor is clean from my efforts over the past two days. I couldn’t feel less like tackling my list of ‘to-do-cooking’.

I want House Beautiful to come photograph. My kitchen IS pretty when it’s clean. :0)  I want everyone I know to come over and remark on it. I want my husband to notice it and ‘ooh’ and ‘ahhh’ appropriately.

If I were less of a slob I might hire a kitchen fairy to do the deep cleaning while I kept up with the day-to-day….

My husband just came into the office. The first thing he said was, “Wow! The stove looks good!”  I think I’ll keep him.

3 Comments

Filed under Housekeeping - Maintenance, I'm a slob

3 responses to “The Problem with a Clean Kitchen

  1. I’m still waiting for a Jetson house – complete with self-cleaning kitchens and bathrooms.

Leave a Reply

