Measure Your Words

I saw a post today called, “Measure Your Words.” The point of the post was thinking before you speak, realizing that your words have power, etc.

I immediately thought of my mom, though, when I read the title.

 

My mom - Betty Wheaton

My mother’s dad would only pay for one year of college, so my mom –  in one year – took all the courses required for graduation from the two-year, Cottey College in Nevada, Missouri,  but one (not available that year) almost graduating. She read voraciously, worked a crossword puzzle and the cryptoquote from the newspaper every day, almost always finishing both.

She could stand up in a meeting and say what was on her mind succinctly and persuasively.  My husband has said he wishes he could do HALF as well as she did with no notes, talking off the cuff, no matter the occasion. I personally die off at the idea of speaking in public. When I do, my lip twitches…

I remember that I could tell how angry she was by how long the words were. If she were miffed, her message was straightforward. The more angry she was, the longer the words got. She had quite an impressive vocabulary, making a point of learning new words all the time, memorizing their meanings and proper pronunciation and usage. She once got up in a meeting, ripping the previous speaker’s words to ribbons, using words that were SO long, many of the people – including the speaker – didn’t realize he had been gutted like a fish.

“Measure your words” brings back lots of memories of growing up with a wonderful role model.  I would give anything to be able to listen to her now – no matter how long her words were. :0)

2 Comments

Filed under Arts and Crafts - Teaching, Family, Favorite People

2 responses to “Measure Your Words

  1. Nice to have positive memories, Linda 🙂

Leave a Reply

