Tour of My Now Clean Art Room

art-hallwaytoartroom

On the second floor of our home we converted a third bedroom into my art room. My husband and I built these shelves in the hallway outside the bedroom, plus installed some cabinets underneath with a top to hold some supplies. The shower curtain to the right of the picture keeps dust (and cats) out of our linen area.

 

art-draftingtable

This is my drafting table where I do most of my painting. I have a sheet of vinyl to protect the actual drafting table, and then I have a large piece of heavy glass. This was set up to start my new Christmas cards and ornaments, but will be cleaned off to start painting the stationery and note cards order.

 

art-jewelry

We put up shelves over a dressing table area. I have all kinds of ribbons and string on two long rods below the shelves and above the counter top. The counter top is set up for making jewelry. To right right are shelves full of note card and stationery supplies.

 

art-drawingarea

I’ve set up this table as a ‘learn to draw’ table, with my Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain book, with lessons to work through, templates I  made before, the beautiful pencils set my husband got me for Christmas, etc. This is also the area where I do things with my alcohol ink. (You can see the wooden base my husband fixed for me, making holes the little bottles of alcohol ink can sit in.)

 

art-shelvesandcounteracrossend

This is the far end of the room, past the drafting table in the middle and the drawing area to the right of the picture. We hung shelves all the way across to hold supplies over a counter top with drawers on both sides. Between the drawers I have three roll-arounds.

As you see, I have many wonderful things to work with in my art room. My biggest problem trying to clean is that I want to stop and do something with a wonderful ‘thing’ I had forgotten I had… I could easily spend all day every day here, playing with my goodies.

I hope you enjoyed the tour. This afternoon I’ll be heavily into creating stationery and note cards for my customer. I’m not sure if she wants personalization or not yet. I’m excited to get started!

Have a wonderful day!

 

2 Comments

Filed under Arts and Crafts - Teaching, Favorite Things, Housekeeping - Maintenance, I'm a slob

2 responses to “Tour of My Now Clean Art Room

  1. I really enjoyed your tour, Linda 😀
    You are lucky to have so much space for all your creativities, but I can also see the danger, if you forget to clean up after use…..

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed the tour of my art room, Irene. I’m very aware of how lucky I am to have such space with the nice shelving my husband and I put up. It isn’t that I ‘forget’ to clean up after use, as you very tactfully mention. It’s that I open the door and STASH things, rather than putting new things in their proper place. I’m going to try to improve on that. I’m too old for this to be ‘cute.’ :0)

Leave a Reply

