Is There Such a Thing as Too Many Books?

Goodwill Librarian via Cathy Ruggiero

Goodwill Librarian via Cathy Ruggiero

I think I’m about halfway finished with my moving books project. I moved most of the books I had in the office up to the built-in shelves in the guest room. I put some up for sale on Amazon. I piled some on the table in the foyer to bag up to donate to our local library next week for their next fundraiser.

Today I’m moving art books into the guest room shelves. This will free up shelves in the living room, art room, and master bedroom. (I know. I have a lot of books.)

The problem with the art books is that when I try to go through them, I get hooked, wanting to take my time, savor the artwork, or put the book in a special place so that – when I can make the time – I can try a new technique I found. :0)

So, for this run-through, I’m just going to concentrate on getting the books into their new homes.

The NEXT part of the project will be reorganizing things so they’re more accessible on clean shelves.

If I can get these two things done in the coming week or so, I’ll chalk this down as a ‘win.’

4 Comments

Filed under Reading is FUNdamental

4 responses to “Is There Such a Thing as Too Many Books?

  1. Too many books? Never! Well we did begin to wonder when we moved our extensive library to Oklahoma from Omaha. We’re not really adding to the collection now though. We rarely buy a hard copy book anymore.

    • I have a lot of books on my Kindle, but there is nothing like the feel of a real book in your hands. I also dislike trying to use the Kindle for recipes. I have to print out the ones I like and put them in a notebook.

  2. I have had many books through my time, but also lost many under moves. And they are very heavy, when you move.

Leave a Reply

