Battle of the Books

Libraries & YA - WordPress.com

Libraries & YA – WordPress.com

I spent the whole day moving stuff.

My husband was suggesting that we should have a clear demarcation between office supplies and supplies to USE in our office shelves. I had just moved a bunch of cookbooks INTO those shelves in order to make space in the living room…

I went upstairs and looked at the built-in shelving in the guest room. I decided that these could be used to hold a lot of books. First, I had to clean THEM out, moving my out of season shoes and purses. When those were empty, I started the big reorganization.

Since we’re eating low carb and low or no sugar now, I have a lot of cookbooks we don’t use all the time.

I looked up each one on Amazon and found several I could put up for resale there. The ones I couldn’t went into two places: the place in the foyer where we gather books we take as a fund-raiser to our local library. The ones I wanted to keep I put on the stairs.

When I finished with Amazon and the give-away groups, I lugged all the keepers upstairs and put them in the guest room bookshelves.

Then I started on all the books I’ve gathered for running a small business, plus some art and craft books. I did the same series with all of these, listing some for resale, put others in the give away pile, and the rest on the stairs to go up.

I now have all theย  books out of the office! Tomorrow I’ll start reorganizing the office shelves so that we can both easily find whatever we need…

I can tell you first-hand that lugging books around and up and down the stairs is great exercise!

4 Comments

Filed under Acting Like a Grownup, Challenges, Changes, Housekeeping - Maintenance, I'm a slob

4 responses to “Battle of the Books

  1. Great exercise and so good to get cleaned out, what you don’t use any longer, Linda ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I agree, Irene. I have a good start, and we sold one of the cookbooks on Amazon this morning! :0) Today I’ll work on reorganizing one set of our office shelves so things are more accessible. I’ve also decided to move some of my art books to the guest room shelves by the end of the weekend. We’ll arrange to give the books we no longer want to the library next week. They have fund-raising sales twice a year where our stuff will go to people who can use them.

Leave a Reply

