Garden Wrapped Up for the Night

harv11292016-3

I just spent an hour in our raised bed, square foot garden,  weeding, pruning, and harvesting lettuce and some small bits of broccoli.

 

gard11292016-8

These pics were taken before I started pruning. You can see some of the leaves that needed to be cut.

 

gard11292016-9

This is mainly broccoli and cauliflower.

 

gard11292016-10

This is a good pic to show the whole fall garden. I can’t tell you how much I love being able to take care of things without having to bend over double or get up and down on my hands and knees over and over.  I got the three planters covered with sheets before I left because it’s supposed to freeze tonight.

gard11292016-3

I never thought I would describe cauliflower as “cute,” but I have the sweetest, teeny, tiny heads of cauliflower I’m trying to protect. The largest one is about 2-1/2 inches across.

 

gard11292016-7

The lettuce is still producing, though I’m having to prune more and more leaves off, due to the incredible changes in temperature. (Example – 70 degrees this afternoon, and 32 degrees tomorrow morning…) If you look carefully, you can see a salad blend plant in this pic – toward the upper left hand corner – it’s burgundy.

 

gard11292016-6

Here’s a difference kind of lettuce. It’s still looking pretty good.

 

gard11292016-2

This is the ‘celery that could’ (like the little engine that could in the children’s story.) I planted it weeks ago. It’s still little bitty, but – as you can see – very healthy and green. I’m cheering it on, trying to protect it as much as possible. SWEET little celery plant…

4 Comments

Filed under Arkansas, Gardening, Square Foot Gardening - Raised Beds

4 responses to “Garden Wrapped Up for the Night

  1. I love your kind of garden, where you can work up instead of being in need for going up-down all the time, Linda 🙂
    Your garden looks so inviting.

Leave a Reply

