A Really Nice Thing Happened…

Herring Gas Co., Inc. - Meadville MS

Herring Gas Co., Inc. – Meadville MS

“Matt” emailed me a week or so ago, asking if I would allow him to post a picture on his blog of the turkey on my website.

 

critterturkey

Like all of our critters, we use ‘found’ objects cobbled together. For the turkey, we used a 20 lb propane tank for the body, sheet metal for the tail, wings, and wattle, rod for the legs, scrap for the cockscomb, some kind of agricultural ‘tooth’ for the head and beak, and google eyes. He stands beside our driveway.

I said, “Sure,” to Matt, asking that he give credit to both my husband and me for the creation, feeling happy he liked the turkey and wanted to use the pic on his website. A couple of days later, he sent me a thank you and the URL to the website.

Today I received a package. Neither my husband nor I could remember ordering anything from a gas company, so we opened the package with interest.

Inside was Matt’s business card, and goodies of all kinds, including 2017 calendars, quilted hot pads, quilted eyeglass cases, and a nice spatula for the grill, as a thank you. Isn’t that amazing?

I’m really impressed with Matt. He could have just used the picture, not asking for permission. I do this many times, giving as much credit as I can find for each picture I post; but getting permission takes a lot more time and effort, and is just plain NICE. We’ve never been thanked in this way for something that was so personally satisfying as having something we made appreciated and posted to others.

Matt Holt is Director of Information Technology for Herring Gas Company. It serves Mississippi and Louisiana. Here is more information if you would like to use their services, or tell others about them –

Herring Gas Company, Inc. 33 Main Street, Meadville MS 39653 601-384-5833

Thank you, Matt, for making our day – twice!

2 Comments

Filed under Encouragement, kindness

2 responses to “A Really Nice Thing Happened…

  1. Thank you for your kind comments. I hope you guys have a Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

