Hard Head

XciteFun.net

XciteFun.net

I have a hard head – I’m really slow to learn a lesson at times.

About 3 weeks ago I started doing yoga. I chose a 2-DVD set called, “Gentle Yoga” because it was geared toward women 60 years and older who had never done yoga, might have health issues, and who might be intimidated by the whole idea – a perfect description of me.

I was surprised that after doing the “Head, Shoulders, and Neck” section, I not only was able to do everything the good teacher asked, but I felt encouraged. She is very accepting. She stresses that there is no perfect yoga pose. Even if you’re only able to START to stretch in the direction she’s showing you, it does your body good. With time and practice, your body will learn to ‘give,’ and you’ll be able to stretch into the poses more and more, your body becoming stronger and more flexible. She asks that you do SOMETHING from the videos every day, even if it’s only for 5 minutes.

I THOUGHT I had listened and absorbed everything, and yet I found myself thinking I would ‘take a day off’ yesterday, since it was Thanksgiving. When mid-afternoon came, I then decided to go ahead and do my yoga. I did the “Lower Back” and “Overall” sections.

By the time I was finished, my back didn’t hurt. I’m working on being able to ‘sit’ on my feet with my knees bent. Each day I can do it for a couple of seconds longer. (My feet tend to cramp and my thighs really don’t like this). I’m determined that one day, if I keep practicing, I’ll be able to do this comfortably.

I even told my sister-in-law that I had learned that I really felt better when I did my yoga and that I was surprised by this. Yesterday I had to prove it to myself again. I’m trying to get to the point that I do two sections every day routinely, rather than making the conscious decision to do it.

emb-jenscreativemediablog

Jen’s Creative Media Blog

I have NEVER found an exercise where I felt better and more relaxed when I finished before. Even hard heads like me should be able to learn this lesson!  Today I’ll do “Spinal Health” and “Overall.”

4 Comments

Filed under Acting Like a Grownup, Attitude, exercise

4 responses to “Hard Head

  1. I’ve been practicing for two years now and I still think I can skip a class here and there because “nobody actually does yoga every day” but then I get reminded that I need to. So I guess I am a slow learner too. 🙂

    • Well, good. It’s great to have some company, although I think that after practicing for two years, YOU could get away with skipping a class every now and then. I’m hoping that I’ll get to the point where my body misses it. I’m such a sedentary person, that sounds impossible right now, but it’s a goal. Congratulations on taking good care of yourself.

  2. What reminds me that I have to practice daily is pain. I was in terrible shape when I started and in a lot of pain. Getting started was slow going and difficult, but I am now pain free most of the time as long as I keep up my practice.

    • Wow. I’m so glad to hear you’ve found a way to keep your pain under control. That’s wonderful! What a powerful motivation and inspiration for others. Thank you SO much for sharing. I wish you the best, and will consider my yoga even more of an opportunity. :0)

Leave a Reply

