Susan’s To Die For Low Carb Meatloaf

 

 

 

I told you that I cooked a lot  yesterday.

My husband asked me today if I had put more Jello Sugar Free Banana Pudding on the shopping list. :0)

He also raved about the meatloaf!  He asked me to put this recipe on the ones we do over and over again.

I got this recipe in the Low Carb section of a website called, “Christy Jordan’s Southern Plate.”

_______________________

Susan’s To Die For Low Carb Meatloaf

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 envelope Onion Soup Mix
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1/3 cup No Fructose Ketchup ( I used reduced sugar)
  • 3/4 cup crushed PORK RINDS (crush, then measure)
  • 1 lb. ground beef
  • 1 lb. ground chicken

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Using clean hands, mix together all ingredients in a large bowl until well blended.
  3. Place two ends from a loaf of bread, end to end, onto the surface of a 9″x13″ baking dish (I used hamburger buns)
  4. Form the meat mixture into a loaf, on top of the bread slices.
  5. Squeeze a little more ketchup on top of the meatloaf.
  6. Bake for 1 hour.
  7. Let stand for 10 minutes before slicing.

NOTES:

Susan’s Tips:

To take this meatloaf over the moon, heat each slice on a sizzling hot cast iron griddle skillet, putting a crusty sear on both sides! Peel off the bread from the bottom of the meatloaf and give it to your 4-legged children. Tails will wag and they will love you forever!

MY NOTES:

I used ground turkey instead of ground chicken. It came in a 3 lb. package, so I divided it roughly into thirds, freezing the other two pounds separately. I was a bit worried because the meat mixture was much softer than I’m used to having when forming the loaf. I went ahead and followed directions and it was REALLY, REALLY good. :0)

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking/Canning/Recipes/Low Carb, DIET!

Leave a Reply

