Growing a BIT Bolder…

GrowingBolder.com via Cathy Ruggiero

The past two weeks have been full of challenge:

  1. It was the first time I’ve EVER had to have something done in the dental office, other than exams and cleaning. I had to have a painful wisdom tooth extracted. I’m embarrassed to admit that while I was lying back in the chair, I was shaking so badly the assistant kept a hand on me, to be replaced by the hand of the dentist, trying to calm me. That is over now. I still have some twinges and a tightness in my gums, but mostly I’m back to being my normal mouthy self. :0)
  2. I had encouraged my husband to look for a used riding lawn mower since he gets really tired now, plus over-heated, plus dehydrated unless I take him a bottle of water while he’s working. He won’t do the lawn in parts. He starts and he finishes, or will collapse in the attempt. Since I have trouble with our self-propelled mower, feeling a bit like I’m playing “Crack the Whip” from my childhood days, I thought this was a good suggestion.

We actually found one a few weeks ago. We had to replace some parts (still ordering a new muffler and a new starter solenoid), but it worked! When it was ‘my turn,’ it scared my hair off. At the slowest speed, I feel the most comfortable, but I’ll die of old age before the lawn is finished. I forced myself to stay on after my husband thought I had done enough, finishing the yard. I DID pull the edge of a tarp into the blades at the end, but we got it out and there was no damage to the mower – only to my ego. :0/

I find that pushing myself – either because of necessity or just a good opportunity – is good for me. I can see it from the outside when my friends do less and less, their worlds becoming smaller and smaller. I am determined to keep my world wide open – open to new experiences, learning new skills, testing my courage, moving around outside my comfort zone a bit. The more I push myself, particularly doing things for the first time, I find a new enthusiasm for life and a bit more confidence in myself.

I’m probably not going to do something like bungee jumping or sky diving at this point, but I don’t think you have to risk your life to keep your mind and body active. Just nudge yourself a bit…

taolife.com

2 Comments

Filed under Attitude, Challenges, Changes

2 responses to “Growing a BIT Bolder…

  1. This way of minding is, whats keeping you young in mind, Linda 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.