Aging – How will YOU do it?

I’ve been thinking about aging lately. I think this lady is gorgeous. I hope I look HALF this good as I get older.

The reason I’ve been thinking about it lately is that two of my dearest friends seem to be doing it at an accelerating rate and it bothers me.  I realize that we are all getting older. That’s okay. Fine by me! And MUCH better than the alternative.

But it bothers me when people I love seem to be withdrawing from the world. It’s starts out as little things, like not watching the news because it’s ‘depressing.’ Or refusing to learn how to work a DVD player. It’s like they’re shutting down and their world is getting smaller and smaller.

Some of it has to do with health. When we hurt, or more parts of us don’t work as well as they used to, it’s hard to stay active. A LOT of it, though, is attitude.

We begin to see the world in terms of all that’s wrong. We see our life that way, too. And we close ourselves off, escaping – withdrawing – imploding – until there is little of ‘us’ remaining.

I HATE THAT!  I love these people and they’re giving up. It’s their right, of course, and it’s selfish of ME to resent it, or mourn. But there it is. I want my friends back!

I want them to enjoy the days they have left in this world. I want them to be excited about something – anything! I want to see them smile at a picture they love, or the memory of a favorite time. I want them to laugh out loud with joy! I want them to anticipate something in the future, rather than merely going through another day. I hate it that there seems to be nothing I can do to change what is happening. No matter how I reach out – calling, writing, going to see them – the shut-down is accelerating.

I realize that the only person I can control or change is myself. Right now I’m fiercely ALIVE. I’m lucky to have good enough health that I can do a lot of what I want to do. I may be slower, or my body may shriek the next day, but I’m getting it done, and I’m LOVING it. I want it to STAY like this as long as possible. To that end, I push myself to try new things. I’m learning new techniques – lately it’s trying to learn silk-screening. My husband and I are trying to learn how to use a camcorder for the first time. I’m trying to program a new GPS for our coming trip. I’m trying to learn to recognize the plants in my new Square Foot Garden. I’m trying to learn to etch glass.

The point is, aging happens, but we can control its rate – at least for quite awhile. By staying active, being stimulated by all the wonderful life around you, you can continue to really LIVE.

I look at the picture of the sweet lady I found above and I again hope that my inner joy will show on my face, as hers does. I’ll work every day to EXPAND my life, EMBRACE new things, LOVE and BE LOVED.

What fills YOU with joy?

 

 

 

10 Comments

Filed under Challenges, Changes, Encouragement, Friendship, Opinion, Quality of Life, Thought for the Day

10 responses to “Aging – How will YOU do it?

  1. I agree with what you say about people shutting down. One of the saddest things is when they start complaining about ‘young people’ – claiming that things were better in ‘their day’ and being negative about life in general. I have a negative attitude towards negativity!

    • I hear you, Jane. I have a negative attitude towards negativity, too! I wish they would REALIZE what they’re doing. They’re not only making themselves miserable, but everyone around them. I wish I could wave a magic wand and make it better.

  2. I really relate to this post. I have a couple of friends, they are not retreating, but have serious physical ailments that could shorten thier lives, and it scares me too.
    I am like you, doing great. No real big health issues, some I am working to avoid by watching what I eat and excercising.,
    I like how you put it, fiercely alive, that is a great way to put it !!
    Like you, I love life and love learning things and doing things and being busy. I also push myself to do things and keep my activity up even when I get tired.
    Life is so precious and I want to stay around as long as I can , we have seven grandkids and our youngest is not in a serious relationship yet, so someday we will have more, there is just too much to live for and so much of the world and life I want to explore.
    You are right, we need to embrace life and all its gifts and just really live and love !!
    what a wonderful post to remind us how lucky we are to be alive and how we need to treasure that gift !!
    Just keep your friends in your prayers, as I do mine, and maybe if you keep encouraging them, they will wake up again. I hope so, I hate to hear of anyone giving up. Aging is relative, if you think you are old, you are old, if you think you are young, you might not really be young anymore, but I guarantee you will feel a lot younger and do more then you would if you paid attention to your age !!

    • I think a lot of us have relatives who gave up and people we love whose worlds are shrinking as we watch. All we can do is keep trying, and fight it in ourselves. Thanks for letting me know I’m not alone, Stephie.

  3. I’m 34 and I feel like life is passing me by at lightning speed! Life is short and is meant to be filled with happy times, but sometimes life just gets in the way. You have such a lovely way about you, you’re an inspiration to me :)

    • Thanks for your kind words, Jenny. I really appreciate them. It just takes a few serious, scary moments to get you to slow down and enjoy what you have. I hope that you learn to take some time for yourself, doing things that give you joy. You’re just a baby at this point, and life will only pass by more quickly as you get older. My hair is blowing! :0)

      • I know what you mean. My life is ridiculously hectic at the minute, and I really don’t know where the weeks are going. I’m just hoping that all of the hard work we are putting in now with the books will get us where we want to be in the future :)

  4. I am really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog.
    Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a great blog like this one today.

Leave a Reply

